Giving birth: The four stages of labour


Giving birth actually entails four different stages of labor during a traditional birthing experience. The first stage is active labor, which is when contractions not only become stronger, but they also last longer and come quicker. Stage two is arguably the hardest stage, since it includes the dilating of the cervix. Once the baby’s head has appropriately descended, it is time to enter stage three, the pushing stage. The final stage is the delivery of the placenta once the baby has already been born.

Key Takeaways:

  • When contractions grow stronger and closer together, this is known as active labour.
  • Stage 2 is the transition phase and for many women, is the most physically uncomfortable part of labour.
  • Stage 3 of labour is the pushing phase, when the baby’s head crowns and they eventually emerges from the vagina.

“From start to finish, here are the four stages of labour.”

Read more:

Virtual Doula Services

Chrissi Long - Birth Alchemy Coach

Chrissi is a Birth Alchemy Coach and the founder of which helps mamas-to-be tap into their body’s innate wisdom and divine feminine power to birth naturally.

With 6 natural childbirths Chrissi’s mission is to rewrite the societal story that it has become “normal” to see birth as a medical condition.

One that’s excruciating and completely out of a woman’s control and not the beautiful biological process that it truly is.

She’s helped hundreds of women go from petrified of the pain and disempowered to embracing the experience and having a fully natural and blissful birth that they cherish the memory of forever more.